Queen of the night: Taylor Swift dominates MTV EMAs

Queen of the night: Taylor Swift dominates MTV EMAs

American singer-songwriter bags four awards including Best Artist, Best Video

TAYLOR Swift was the queen of the night, earning four awards at the MTV Europe Music Awards (EMAs) 2022, including Best Artist, Best Video and Best Pop.

She also bagged Best Longform Video for All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version).

American rapper Nicki Minaj was awarded Best Song for Super Freaky Girl, and Best Hip Hop, while UK singer Harry Styles won Best Live.

Meanwhile, show host Rita Ora won Best Look “Personal Style”, while Video for Good went to Sam Smith feat. Kim Petras for Unholy.

The Best Collaboration award went to David Guetta and Bebe Rexha for I’m Good (Blue) while Guetta also nabbed Best Electronic, and new EMA category Best Metaverse Performance went to Blackpink The Virtual PUBG Mobile.

Held at the PSD Bank Dome in Düsseldorf, Germany, it was also hosted by Thor: Ragnarok director Taika Waititi.

Guetta and Rexha opened the night performing their hit I’m Good (Blue), with Guetta DJing from a massive riser and Rexha swinging onto the stage.

Director Taika Waititi (left) and singer Rita Ora (right) hosts the MTV European Music Awards 2022 held in Germany. Rita takes home the Best Look Personal Style award for the night. – MTV EMAs pic, November 14, 2022

Muse (Best Rock winner) lit up the stage performing Will of the People flanked by people wearing mirrored masks, parkour dancers and an explosive finale with flames and flares.

World Stage headliners Gorillaz (Best Alternative winners) feat. Thundercat performed Cracker Island from the iconic Tonhalle music concert hall in Dusseldorf.

OneRepublic performed the theme I Ain’t Worried, from the blockbuster film Top Gun: Maverick, which featured giant fighter jet afterburners and a special video intro from global superstar Tom Cruise.

Newcomer Gayle made her award show debut performing her chart-topping hit abcdefu in a teenage bedroom scene featuring confetti explosions.

The show also featured a moving performance by Ukrainian band Kalush Orchestra with a powerful display of support for their home country.

Spinall, Äyanna and Nasty C closed the night performing Power flanked by roller skaters with tracking devices that made the lights on the stage form funky patterns.

The show also featured special appearances by actor David Hasselhoff, among others.

This year’s MTV EMA Generation Change Award honorees are three Ukrainian women – Lina Deshvar, Anna Kutova and Anfisa Yakovina – who are fighting for the care and rights of those impacted by the humanitarian crisis in Ukraine.

Their work includes providing shelter for refugees, evacuating and caring for families raising children, adolescents and young people with disabilities, providing art and group therapy for women and families who have been separated from their families and more.

Full list of winners:

– Best Song – Nicki Minaj – Super Freaky Girl
– Best Video – Taylor Swift – All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)
– Best Artist – Taylor Swift
– Best Collaboration – David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – I’m Good (Blue)
– Best Live – Harry Styles
– Best Pop – Taylor Swift
– Best New – SEVENTEEN
– Best K-Pop – Lisa
– Best Latin – Anitta
– Best Electronic – David Guetta
– Best Hip Hop – Nicki Minaj
– Best Rock – Muse
– Best Alternative – Gorillaz
– Best R&B – Chlӧe
– Best Longform – Taylor Swift – All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)
– Video For Good – Sam Smith Unholy (ft. Kim Petras)
– Biggest Fans – BTS
– Best Push – Seventeen
– Best Metaverse Performance – Blackpink The Virtual PUBG Mobile
– Best Look ’Personal Style’ – Rita Ora
– Generation Change – Lina Deshvar, Anna Kutova and Anfisa Yakovina

source – The Vibes


Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )