Parliament’s dissolution won’t affect Le Tour de Langkawi: organiser

Parliament’s dissolution won’t affect Le Tour de Langkawi: organiser

Human Voyage has formulated backup plans to address any sudden possibilities, issues

SHAH ALAM – The dissolution of Parliament will not affect the 2022 Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) race that flags off today, especially if the general election falls around the time of the tournament.

Event organiser Human Voyage Sdn Bhd said they have taken the necessary precautions and held discussions with the Youth and Sports Ministry prior to the event to manage any possibilities that might occur.

“As the organiser, we have discussed with the ministry to make sure that it (dissolution of Parliament) would not affect the race.

“We have Plan A and Plan B in place so that the race can continue as planned, including the technical side of the race,” said Human Voyage chief operating officer Shahaizereen Abd Hamid in an interview.

Caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob yesterday announced the dissolution of Parliament after receiving the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah’s consent, which paves the way for the 15th general election within 60 days.

Shahaizereen also noted that they are ready to face a flood situation throughout the 26th edition of the race involving eight stages that starts from Kuala Pilah today and ends at Langkawi on October 18.

He added that his team has considered the best possible outcome to mitigate any issues that might arise, including planning the routes mostly on the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia to avoid flood-prone areas.

“For example, it would be necessary for us to change the route if we came across landslides or fallen trees,” he added.

This year’s race will start with Stage 1 – from Kuala Pilah to Kuala Lumpur for a distance of 157.3km. This is followed by Stage 2 (Kuala Klawang-Raub, 178.9km); Stage 3 (Putrajaya-Genting Highlands, 123.7km); Stage 4 (Sabak Bernam-Meru Raya, 137.9km); Stage 5 (Kuala Kangsar-Kulim, 172.0km); Stage 6 (George Town-Alor Setar, 20.8km); Stage 7 (Kuah-Gunung Raya, 90.8km); and Stage 8 ( Langkawi Loop,115.9km).

source – The Vibes

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )