Actress Fauziah Nawi named Tokoh Seri Angkasa Award recipient

Actress Fauziah Nawi named Tokoh Seri Angkasa Award recipient

Award recognises her contributions to the industry, including championing the struggles of local artists

PUTRAJAYA – Veteran actress Fauziah Nawi was named the recipient of the Tokoh Seri Angkasa Award (ASA) 2022 at the Malam Kemuncak ASA 2022 yesterday.

The 69-year-old received RM10,000 in cash, a trophy and a car for her contributions to the creative arts industry, including championing the struggles of local artists.

The award was presented by Communications and Multimedia Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre.

Also in attendance were Deputy Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin and the ministry’s secretary-general Datuk Seri Mohammad Mentek.

Malaysian National News Agency (Bernama) chief executive officer Roslan Ariffin was also present.

Meanwhile, ‘Social Playlist’ by Herbert Pua Kuo Jie won the Best TV Documentary award and ‘Pencipta Pegang Waktu’ by Nor Shahila Harun Shah was named the Best TV Drama.

Herbert received RM5,000 in cash, a trophy and RM150,000 from the Digital Content Fund (DKD) while Nor Shahila took home RM5,000 in cash, a trophy and RM200,000 from DKD.

The awarding of DKD is in line with the National Recovery Plan. It aimed to assist and encourage creative industry players to produce, market and distribute creative content of high value to local and international markets, during the post-Covid-19 pandemic phase.

Journalists from Bernama were also honoured at the awards, winning in two categories. Mohd Hirzee Mohamad won the Best Radio Bulletin category through the Bernama Radio channel with the ‘Utama Waktu Ini’ programme.

Ahmad Fawzan Azmie Abdul Halil won the Best Radio News Coverage category through the Bernama Radio channel with Sungai Telemong Post Flood Live Coverage programme.

This year’s ASA makes its return following a six-year hiatus and is organised by the Communications and Multimedia Ministry (K-KOMM).

The two-day prestigious event is aimed at recognising and celebrating the achievements of those in the creative arts and broadcasting industry.

Among the artists present were Datuk Jamal Abdillah, Datuk M. Nasir, Datuk Jalaluddin Hassan, Datuk Rosyam Nor, Ella, Zulin Aziz, Sabri Yunus, Fauzi Nawawi, Lisdawati, Syafie Naswip, Nasha Aziz and Janna Nick.

The event, themed ‘the Peak of Excellence’, saw prizes presented to winners of 34 categories yesterday.

The theme is in line with its 50th anniversary. It also coincides with K-KOMM’s aspiration to make the awards a catalyst in the production of quality work in the broadcasting industry, especially at the national level.

ASA, formerly known as Anugerah RTM, was initiated by the Ministry of Information in 1972. It aims to recognise the best radio and television programmes produced by RTM.

source – Bernama

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )